Besides Kimchi - Paris IV

Article

Concept store Besides Kimchi
Paris IV, France

Delivery : 2017
Project owner : BK - Concept
Partners : -
Floor area : 110m²
Cost : 0,22 M€HT

Photo credits : 11h45

The Franco Korean concept store “Besides Kimchi” is a place dedicated to Korean fashion & lifestyle. Unique in Paris, it is located between the Pompidou center and the Town Hall

This former hairdressing salon, in need of major renovation, is now built on two levels, each reflecting a distinct universe: a space on the ground floor, devoted to “casual chic” women's fashion, worked like an art gallery and, a lower level focused on a more masculine, streetwear universe.

The identity of the place is borne by precise work on the material:
A strong element of the palette, a terrazzo composed of occlusions of yellow and blue glass defines the ground floor tablecloth and turns into the facade spandrel. The rest of the ground floor is treated in predominantly white (powder coated steel, expanded metal and white walls). Referring to traditional Korean pottery work, the wall facing the entrance is dressed in a unique wall installation. A fresco by artist Cyril Dennery made up of 72 black and gold enamelled ceramic discs immediately catches the eye of visitors.

In front of her, a black mass, the function of which seems mysterious, in fact outlines the body as well as a glass showcase for the precious variations.

The rest of the furniture, the sideboards with variable geometries, is treated in the lightest possible way, as if levitating above the ground. They frame the gaze on the vitreous oculus, an event on the ground creating a call to the lower level.

The space at -1 is more subdued. The walls are in anthracite millimeter concrete, tinted in the mass. Ceilings are in black wood fiber slabs. In contrast to the lightness of the furniture in the upper part, two massive central pieces of furniture in white laminate, denote the dark and raw universe of the basement.

The lighting project, through the production of custom-made lighting, creates the link between the two worlds. Chandeliers with geometric designs are suspended on the ground floor and neon lights featuring the logo in the basement recall the tangy light atmospheres of the streets of Seoul.

Material palette:

.High floor: terrazzo + 30mm blue / 12mm yellow glass occlusions
.Staircase: expanded metal powder coated white 40mm
. Low walls: anthracite millimeter concrete tinted in the mass 4mm
. Low ceiling: black wood fiber tiles
.Low floor: cement screed tinted in the mass

Besides Kimchi - Paris IV

Article

Concept store Besides Kimchi
Paris IV, France

Livraison : 2017
Porteur : BK - Concept
Partenaires : -
SDP : 110m²
Coût : 0,22 M€HT
Label : -

Le concept store Franco Coréen “Besides Kimchi” est lieu dédié à la mode & à l’art de vivre Coréen. Unique à Paris, il est situé entre le centre Pompidou et l’Hôtel de ville

Cet ancien salon de coiffure, nécessitant une rénovation lourde, s’articule désormais sur deux niveaux reflétant chacun un univers distinct : un espace à RDC, consacré à la mode féminine “casual chic”, travaillé comme une galerie d’art et, un niveau inférieur axé sur un univers “streetwear”, plus masculin.

L’identité du lieu est portée par un travail précis sur la matière :
Elément fort de la palette, un terrazzo composé d’occlusions de verre jaune et bleu définit la nappe du sol à rdc et se retourne en allège de façade. Le reste du RDC est traité en dominante de blancs (acier thermolaqué, métal déployé et murs blancs). Faisant référence au travail de poterie traditionnelle coréenne, le mur face à l’entrée est habillé d’une installation murale unique. Une fresque réalisée par l’artiste Cyril Dennery composée de 72 disques noirs et or en céramique émaillée, capte immédiatement le regard des visiteurs.

Devant elle, une masse noire, dont la fonction semble mystérieuse, dessine en fait la caisse ainsi qu’un showcase vitré pour les déclinaisons précieuses.

Le reste du mobilier, des dessertes aux géométries variables, est traité de la manière la plus légère possible, comme en lévitation au-dessus du sol. Elles cadrent le regard sur l’oculus vitré, évènement au sol créant un appel vers le niveau inférieur.

L’espace situé au -1 est plus tamisé. Les murs sont en béton millimétrique anthracite, teinté dans la masse. Les plafonds sont en dalles de fibre de bois noir. Par opposition avec la légèreté du mobilier en partie haute, deux meubles centraux massifs en stratifié blanc, dénotent avec l’univers sombre et brut du sous-sol.

Le projet lumineux, par la réalisation de luminaires sur mesure créée le lien entre les deux univers. Des lustres aux dessins géométriques sont suspendus au rdc et des néons reprenant le logo au sous-sol rappellent les ambiances lumineuses acidulées des rues de Séoul.

Palette matériaux :

.Sol haut : terrazzo + occlusions de verre bleu 30mm / jaune 12mm
.Escalier : métal déployé thermolaqué blanc 40mm
.Murs bas : béton millimétrique anthracite teinté dans la masse 4mm
.Plafond bas : dalles en fibre de bois noir
.Sol bas : chape ciment teintée dans la masse